close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

placeholder image

Every Child Ready to Read

You can help your child succeed at reading long before they are ever ready to sound out words on their own. Building your child's early literacy skills will set them on the path to success! The skills are:

Print Awareness:
Noticing print everywhere
Phonological Awareness:
Knowing sounds
Narrative Skills:
Knowing how stories work
Letter Knowledge:
Naming letters and their sounds
Vocabulary:
Knowing lots of words
Background Knowledge:
Knowing about the world all around

How do you build these skills? Here are five fun, free, and easy ways:

Every Child Ready to Read Practices Logo: TalkingEvery Child Read to Read Practices Logo: SingingEvery Child Read to Read Practices Logo: ReadingEvery Child Read to Read Practices Logo: WritingEvery Child Read to Read Practices Logo: Playing

Click each to learn more! You can also read up on the Every Child Ready to Read initiative and why it works.

This Month's Featured Reads!

LCPL staff have selected these books because kids love them and they help build important pre-reading skills. Check them out today!

Want more hand-picked kids' books? You can request a surprise bag of kids' books for curbside pickup! 

snow book cover Title:
Snow by Manya Stojic

Skills:
• Phonological Awareness
• Background Knowledge
• Letter Knowledge
• Vocabulary
• Narrative Skills
• Print Awareness

Practices:
• Talking
• Reading

Extend the book with an ice painting activity!
hoot owl Book Cover Title:
Hoot, Owl! by Shelby Alinsky

Skills:
• Vocabulary
• Background Knowledge
• Print Awareness

Practices:
• Reading
• Talking
• Writing
• Playing

Extend the Book with a letter owl!

TumbleBook of the Day (by Indiana State Library and Tumblebooks)

Preschool Events
Sat, Jan 16, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Sun, Jan 17, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Mon, Jan 18, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Tue, Jan 19, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Wed, Jan 20, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Fri, Jan 22, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Sat, Jan 23, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Sun, Jan 24, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Tue, Jan 26, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Wed, Jan 27, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Wed, Jan 27, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Fri, Jan 29, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Sat, Jan 30, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Sun, Jan 31, 10:30am - 10:45am
Lake County Public Library YouTube Page - bit.ly/LCPLstorytime

Tue, Feb 02, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Fri, Feb 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Family Events
Tue, Jan 19, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Merrillville

Rescheduled
Wed, Jan 20, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
New date Tuesday, January 12, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Rescheduled
Wed, Jan 20, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
New date Tuesday, January 19, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Tue, Jan 26, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Wed, Jan 27, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Thu, Jan 28, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Mon, Feb 01, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Tue, Feb 02, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Wed, Feb 03, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Thu, Feb 04, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Fri, Feb 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Mon, Feb 08, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room

Fri, Feb 12, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Lake County Public Library Zoom Room